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 Requirement Summary for Iowa Commercial Pesticide 
 Applicator Licenses and Certifications updated 4/2013
 
COMMERCIAL LICENSE  A person engaged in the 
business of applying any pesticide to the lands or 
property of another is required to be licensed as a 
commercial pesticide applicator.  Each location or outlet 
operating in Iowa as a commercial pesticide applicator is 
required to be  licensed separately.  Each licensed 
location is required to designate a person responsible for 
the pesticide application activities for that site and 
indicate this person's name on the license application 
form.   
 

 Fee - $25 annual license fee for the location 
license.  All licenses expire December 31 of 
each year.  Renewal forms are provided to 
licensees during late October or early November 
of each year.  License renewals submitted after 
the expiration date are subject to a penalty of 25 
percent of the fee due.  (Persons who apply 
pesticides as a commercial pesticide applicator 
without a current license and/or certification may 
also be subject to civil penalties being assessed 
against them.) 

 
 Certified Applicators - Each individual who 

applies pesticides for a commercial pesticide 
applicator is required to be certified. Commercial 
applicator certifications are $75 for a three year 
certification.    Certifications are valid only when 
associated with a valid licensed company!  
Written examinations are required for first-time 
applicators.  Written exams are also required for 
individuals adding on certification categories and 
those persons choosing not to maintain 
continuing instruction credit hours.   

 
The core examination and appropriate category test(s) 
must be successfully passed before application for 
certification can be made.  Additional categories may be 
added anytime with no extra charge.  Any category will 
carry the same expiration date as the card on which it is 
added.  Each certified individual must be listed as an 
applicator under a current Iowa pesticide applicator 
license for that certification to be valid. 

 
Renewal of Applicator Certifications - Each applicator 
is placed on a three-year “qualification cycle.”  
(Certification renewal forms are provided by the 
Pesticide Bureau.)  At the end of the qualification 
cycle each applicator must indicate a method of 
renewal by: 

 
1.  Declaring that at least two hours of continuing 
instruction for each certified application category 
has been received for each of the previous three 
years and verification of having received  training 
is on file with the applicator’s employer; 

 or, 
2.  Completing written tests at the end of the third 
year of the “qualification cycle;” 

 or, 
3.  Maintaining a combination of training and 
testing. 

Note: An applicator who misses two hours of training 
for any one category for any one year is required to 
complete written tests for that particular category.  
There are no provisions for “making up” missed 
continuing instruction hours to avoid the written test. 

 

 Secondary Containment of Pesticides - Before a 
commercial applicator license may be issued, the 
applicant must certify that the firm is in compliance 
with the secondary containment provisions for 
pesticides, as specified in Iowa Administrative Code, 
21- chapter 44(206), or provide documentation that 
the firm is exempt from those requirements. 

 
 Evidence of financial responsibility (Certificate of 

Insurance) - Each commercial applicator must 
provide evidence of financial responsibility to provide 
for damages resulting as result of the applicant’s 
pesticide application operations.  Coverage must 
provide for at least $100,000 property damage and 
public liability, each separately, OR liability insurance 
with limits of $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 
annual aggregate.  A certificate of insurance is the 
most popular form of fulfilling the statutory 
requirements for financial responsibility; however, a 
properly executed surety bond may also be 
accepted.  The provider of any certificate of 
insurance must promptly notify the Pesticide Bureau 
of any cancellation or modifications of the covered 
individual which may affect compliance with Iowa 
Code, section 206.13. 

 
 Nonresidents  - Any nonresident of Iowa applying for 

a pesticide applicator license to operate in this state 
shall file a notarized power of attorney designating 
the secretary of state as the duly authorized agent 
upon whom service of process may be had in the 
event of any suit against the nonresident person 
(company).  The Pesticide Bureau shall be furnished 
with a copy of such designation of the secretary of 
state or of a resident agent, such copy to be certified 
by the secretary of state.   

 
Nonresidents may qualify for reciprocity regarding 
the written test requirements for certification.  To 
apply for reciprocal certification with the state of 
Iowa, include a copy of the front and back of the 
certification card currently held.  Those individuals 
with certification under a reciprocal agreement must 
meet Iowa's license requirements and pay Iowa's 
license and certification fees.  Residents of Iowa are 
not eligible for Iowa certification by reciprocity. (see 
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/Pesticide/forms/reciprocity.pdf )  

 
=========================================== 
 
AERIAL APPLICATORS   Aerial applicators are subject 
to all licensing and certification requirements of the 
Commercial Pesticide Applicator license plus additional 
requirements regarding containment and aerial applicator 
consultants.  Please see the IDALS website for 
information specific to the licensing of aerial applicators 
at http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/pesticides.asp   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This document is intended as a brief summary of 
commercial pesticide applicator requirements under 
Iowa Code Chapter 206 and related administrative 
rules.  Please refer to the Bureau’s website link to the 
Iowa Code and Rules (Iowa Administrative Code) for 
complete text of regulatory requirements. 
 
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/Pesticide/pesticiderules.asp 
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NONCOMMERCIAL LICENSE  A noncommercial 
applicator license is required for the firm which during 
regular operating procedure demonstrates either the use 
of pesticides or finds it necessary to purchase and/or 
apply restricted use pesticides solely upon land or 
property owned by or under the control of the licensee.  
Any other pesticide applications made on any other 
property would subject the licensee to the provisions of a 
commercial pesticide applicator. 
 

Licensing requirements for noncommercial Pesticide 
Applicators is identical to that of Commercial Pesticide 
Applicators except that proof of financial responsibility 
is waived under this license providing the 
noncommercial applicator is a full-time employee of a 
privately held entity and/or shall not publicly claim to be 
a commercial pesticide applicator or engage in the 
business of applying pesticides other than as an 
employee of a company on company property. 

=========================================== 
 
PUBLIC OFFICIAL and STATE AGENCIES   A license 
is required for any state or county agency, municipal 
corporation, or any other governmental entity which 
during regular operating procedures performs or 
supervises pesticide applications (either nonrestricted or 
restricted pesticides).  These pesticide applications are 
made solely upon land or property owned by or under 
control of the licensee.  Any other pesticide applications 
made on any other property would subject the licensee to 
the provisions of a commercial pesticide applicator. 
 

Requirements for Public Official and State Agency 
licensees are identical to those of the Commercial 
Pesticide Applicators except:   

 
● Those qualifying for the public applicator license 
status are exempt from paying the $25 annual 
license fee; however, the license must be renewed 
each year. 

 
● Certification fees for qualifying public applicators 
are $15 for a three-year certification. 

 
● Proof of financial responsibility is waived for this 
license type. 

=========================================== 
 
GOLF COURSES Any golf course which applies 
pesticides to those grounds must meet the same 
certification and license requirements for Public 
Applicators, regardless whether the facility is public or 
private in organization. 
 
=========================================== 
 
 Certified Pesticide Applicator Categories 
 1 Agricultural Pest Control 
  1A  Agricultural Weed Control 
  1B  Agricultural Insect Control 
  1C  Agricultural Crop Disease Control 
  1D  Fruit and Vegetable Pest Control 
  1E  Animal Pest Control 
 2 Forest Pest Control 
 3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control 
  3OT Ornamental and Turf Pest Control 
  3O  Ornamental Pest Control 
  3T  Turf Pest Control 
  3G  Greenhouse 
 4 Seed Treatment 
 5 Aquatic Pest Control 
 6 Right-of-Way Pest Control 

 7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural, and Related 
Pest Control 

  7A  General and Household Pest Control 
  7B  Termite Pest Control 
  7C  Fumigation 
  7D  Community Pest Control 
  7E  Wood Preservatives 
  7F  Antifouling Paints 
  8 Public Health Pest Control 
  9 Regulatory Pest Control 
 10  Demonstration and Research Pest Control 
 11 Aerial Applicators 
 H.  Pesticide Handler 
=========================================== 
 
CERTIFIED HANDLERS A "certified handler" means a 
person employed by a licensed commercial applicator, 
noncommercial applicator, public applicator or pesticide 
dealer who handles pesticides in other than unopened 
containers for the purposes of preparing, mixing or 
loading pesticides for application by another person, 
repackaging bulk pesticides or disposing of pesticide-
related wastes from these activities. 
 

1. The secretary shall NOT issue a certified handler’s 
certification until an individual is certified as 
competent by passing an examination to demonstrate 
to the secretary his knowledge of how to apply 
pesticides and pays a three-year $75 certification fee. 
 Certifications must be renewed by the process of 
retesting 

 
2.  A certified handler shall not act in the capacity of a 
supervisor of other certified handlers or certified 
applicators 

 
=========================================== 
 
WRITTEN APPLICATOR TESTS:   
Locations for pesticide applicator testing opportunities are 
posted at   
 
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/Pesticide/pesticidetesting.asp  
 
  Photo identification is required.  Please contact 
Pesticide Bureau for a current testing schedule. 
=========================================== 
 
 PESTICIDE BUREAU CONTACTS 
 
Commercial Licensing & Certification ...... 515-281-5601 
Dealer Licenses ....................................... 515-281-5601 
Private Certification  ................................. 515-281-8591 
Product Registration  ............................... 515-281-8591 
Certification Testing Information .............. 515-281-8591 
Pesticide General Information .................. 515-281-8591 
 

pesticides@iowaAgriculture.gov 
 
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/pesticides.asp 

 
 

IDALS General Information ...................... 515-281-5321 
 
 

www.iowaAgriculture.gov 


