LogoSoyben FieldSoybean fieldsoybean fiieldsoybean field
AnimalsConservationMarketingNews & EventsRegulationApply for Cost Share
What We Do
Secretary of Ag
Deputy Secretary
Forms & Licenses
Soil Conservation
Who to Contact
Search our Site



For Immediate Release
Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Dustin Vande Hoef
Communications Director
515/281-3375 or 515/326-1616 (cell)
or Dustin.VandeHoef@IowaAgriculture.gov


Governor Terry E. Branstad « Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Contact: Governor’s Office (515) 725-3523

Gov. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds, Sec. Northey announce Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry E. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds  and Sec. Bill Northey, today, announce the establishment of the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards to recognize the environmental efforts of Iowa’s farmers.

The governor, lt. governor and secretary are currently seeking nominations of farmers that have taken significant steps to serve as local leaders in environmental stewardship on their farms utilizing a variety of techniques and best management practices. Nominee’s actions should merit recognition for leadership in advancing water quality and soil sustainability measures in Iowa agriculture.

“The governor and I are excited to have the opportunity to honor Iowa farmers who are true stewards of the land,” said Reynolds. “It is important for Iowans to take proactive conservation methods to protect our great state so that future generations reap the benefits of Iowa fields. Agriculture is a tremendous asset to our state’s economic environment and we must protect it.”

This award seeks to not only recognize farmers for their responsible choices, but also to encourage other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.

“Iowa farmers take great pride in caring for the land and protecting Iowa’s waters,” Northey said.  “I’m excited to join with the Governor and Lt. Governor to recognize farmers who are leaders in environmental stewardship and conservation.”

An appointed committee of representatives from both conservation and agricultural groups will annually review the nominations and select the winners. This year’s recipients will be recognized at the 2012 Iowa State Fair on Friday, August 17.

Nominations are open until June 30, 2012 and the form can be found here.



Mailing Address: IDALS,  Wallace State Office Building,   502 E. 9th Street,  Des Moines, IA 50319:     PH: 515-281-5321
  Sitemap   Privacy Statement   Relay Iowa State of Iowa Home