Pesticide Drift: Frequently Asked Questions

What is pesticide drift?

Pesticide spray drift is the movement of pesticide dust or droplets through the air at the time of
application or soon after, to any site other than the area intended. Avoiding ALL off-site
movement is the responsibility of the applicator. All pesticide applicators must always read and
follow label directions, including checking supplemental labels for additional information. The
Label is the Law!

What is the role of the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship in cases
where Iowans have concerns about possible pesticide drift?

The Pesticide Bureau within lowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship is
responsible for responding to complaints and helping protect citizens from misuse of the
products. In addition, education and testing on the safe use of pesticides is administered to all
licensed pesticide applicators in conjunction with lowa State University Extension and Outreach.

What is new regarding the pesticide Dicamba?

As of April 1, 2017, the EPA has registered Engenia, FeXapan, and XtendiMax for in-season
(pre-emergence, post-emergence) use on soybean crops genetically engineered to tolerate
Dicamba. Application restrictions and use patterns have changed, compared to previously
registered Dicamba products.

It is critical that all retailers, applicators, and growers are knowledgeable of these new
requirements. New requirements for spray tip, spray pressure, sprayer speed, and boom height as
well as additional wind speed restrictions and buffer requirements are all designed to improve
on-target pesticide applications and reduce the potential for pesticide drift. Again, applicators
must read and follow all label instructions.

What should someone do if they suspect pesticide drift?

When claiming an accident, incident or loss due to a person’s use of a pesticide, you must file an
“Incident Report” with the Department’s Pesticide Bureau by phoning 515-281-8591 or by
emailing the information to pesticides@lowaAgriculture.gov. This report must be filed within 60
days after the alleged date that damages occurred. If a growing crop is alleged to have been
damaged, the report must be filed before 25% of the crop is harvested. The report should contain
the person’s name, address, county and phone numbers. They will also need to provide
information about the incident, including address and county, areas impacted and any other
relevant details. Other information that should be given, if possible, includes the date and time
of the incident, name address and contact information for the alleged applicator, the type of
application and what may impacted by drift.

What is the timeline for a pesticide drift investigation?

The Department’s goal is to respond to pesticide use complaints within 5 business days and if an
investigation is initiated, complete the investigation within 60 days. Investigation report reviews
after laboratory analysis reports are received can take an additional 90 days or more. The

actual time to respond to a complaint and complete an investigation report can vary due to



complexity of the investigation, investigator workload, sampling, laboratory analysis requested,
additional information needs, and other factors.

What is the Department’s investigation process?

The Department’s pesticide investigator gathers information by providing notification of
inspection, conducting interviews, obtaining statements, reviewing application records and
pesticide labels, taking photographs and making on-site assessments. The information gathered
helps document whether a violation of state and/or federal pesticide law occurred.

What are the penalties if pesticide drift is found?

Several enforcement actions are considered by the Department when a violation of state and/or
federal pesticide laws is determined to have occurred. These enforcement actions include:

¢ Notice of Violation;

¢ Official Notice;

¢ Imposition of Civil Penalty of commercial applicators of up to $500;

¢ Pesticide License Suspension/Revocation;

¢ Referral to EPA for review and enforcement action;

¢ License and/or certification suspension or revocation;

¢ Product Stop Sale, Use or Removal Order;

¢ Crop Embargo/Detainment

When clear documentation of a violation is not available, a Letter of Advisement may be issued
or the case may be dismissed with no regulatory action.

Are farmers impacted by drift eligible for damages?

Iowa Code Chapter 206 does not contain any provision for compensation to be made to
individuals for a loss due to pesticide use. As a result, the Department cannot require someone to
pay for a loss due to pesticide use or misuse.

Can landowners take their own samples if they suspect drift?

Samples must be collected by Department personnel or other approved state or federal regulatory
agencies for the evidence to be used, if needed, in administrative actions. However, landowners
can take collect samples and pay for their own testing if they are interested. A list of labs that
can test for evidence of pesticide list can be found at
http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/Pesticide/pdf/2017/PesticideLabListUpdate2017.pdf.

How many pesticide misuse complaints does the Department investigate each year?
Total Pesticide Incidents (Ag Use and Non Ag Use) involving filed complaints investigated by
the Department’s Pesticide Bureau:

Crop Non-

Year Misuse | Ag Ag
2012 120 89 31
2013 122 102 20
2014 89 67 22
2015 108 90 18




2016 105 87 18

2017 178 154 24 Updated counts for crop year 2017 as of 8/1/2017:

What other resource are available?

A brochure with more information about the Department’s Pesticide Investigation and
Enforcement activities can be found at

http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/Pesticide/pdf/2015/Enforcement2014 06FINAL.pdf.

Data summaries are representative of IDALS Pesticide Bureau counts as of
6/23/2017. Data summaries are time sensitive and subject to change as case

assignments move through case review and disposition and will be updated
throughout the year.





