Iowa Department of Agriculture
Facebook Twitter Flickr
Regulation News and Events Marketing Conservation Animals
Site Search
What We Do
Secretary of Ag
Deputy Secretary
Forms & Licenses
Soil Conservation
Who to Contact
Administrative Rules -IDALS
Administrative Rules -Soil

  Facebook Flickr Twitter You tube


For Immediate Release
Friday, September 23, 2016


Dustin Vande Hoef
515/281-3375 or 515/326-1616 (cell)



Team members recognized for response to 2015 Avian Influenza outbreak, efforts to help other state prepare

DES MOINES – The National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA) has recognized the Iowa Avian Influenza Incident Management Team with the James A. Graham Award for Outstanding Service.  NASDA is a nonpartisan, nonprofit association which represents the elected and appointed commissioners, secretaries, and directors of the departments of agriculture in all fifty states and four U.S. territories.

Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey nominated the Iowa team for the award. 

“Staff throughout our Department and from across state government stepped up and help respond to this terrible animal disease outbreak.  This award is an opportunity to highlight the hard work and long hours they all put in to the response and thank them for their service.  I am extremely proud of the Iowa team and join my colleagues from across the country in congratulating them on receiving this award,” Northey said.

The award was presented at the NASDA annual meeting held in Lincoln, NE September 21 – 24. 

The award citation read:

“The Iowa IMT leadership worked diligently throughout the entire 2015 H5N2 Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) outbreak in Iowa.

“This outbreak has been described by USDA APHIS leadership as the largest animal health emergency in US history.  The Iowa IMT leadership provided effective, strong, committed, positive and creative leadership throughout the entire emergency response in Iowa.  The Iowa IMT leadership worked closely with federal, state, local and industry partners to assist producers in depopulation, disposal and cleaning and disinfection of infected facilities.

“Throughout the disease outbreak they always maintained a focus on helping farmers get back in operation as soon as possible while ensuring strong biosecurity measures were in place to limit further spread of the disease.

“In addition to leading the Iowa response to this disease, Iowa IMT leadership have also conducted extensive training, planning and preparations in our state to better prepare for another incident of HPAI or other animal disease.  They have also shared their hard earned experience freely and served as a resource for other states preparing their own animal health emergency response plans.

“The team members include Steve Moline, Food Safety and Animal Health Division Director; Dr. David Schmitt, State Veterinarian for Iowa; Dr. Jeff Kaisand, Assistant State Veterinarian for Iowa; and Robin Pruisner, Ag Security Coordinator.”

The James A. Graham Award recognizes outstanding work in providing service to agricultural producers.  Nominees must be an employee of a state department of agriculture whose job responsibility is in any area that provides direct or indirect service to agricultural producers. Recipient must have administered their duties while exhibiting superior performance and achieving major contributions to agricultural producers in the state, region or nationally.  More information about the award can be found at


***Reporters and Editors: A photo of the award presentation is available upon request.



Mailing Address: IDALS,  Wallace State Office Building,   502 E. 9th Street,  Des Moines, IA 50319:     PH: 515-281-5321
  Sitemap   Privacy Statement   Relay Iowa State of Iowa Home
animals Conservation Marketing News and Events Regulations Cost Share