Iowa Department of Agriculture
Facebook Twitter Flickr
Regulation News and Events Marketing Conservation Animals
Site Search
What We Do
Secretary of Ag
Deputy Secretary
Forms & Licenses
Soil Conservation
Who to Contact
Administrative Rules -IDALS
Administrative Rules -Soil

  Facebook Flickr Twitter You tube


Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Dustin Vande Hoef
515/281-3375 or 515/326-1616 (cell)


Governor Kim Reynolds « Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, August 30, 2017
CONTACT: Brenna Smith, (515) 281-5211

Governor’s office, ag & natural resources departments recognize environmental leaders

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Kim Reynolds, Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey and Iowa Department of Natural Resources Director Chuck Gipp presented 81 Iowa farm families with the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award during a ceremony Aug. 16 at the Iowa State Fair.

The award is a joint effort between the Office of the Governor, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to health soils and improved water quality.

“This award seeks to recognize the exemplary voluntary actions of farmers to improve and protect the environment and natural resources of our state,” Gov. Reynolds said. “It also encourages other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.”

“This award program is in its sixth year,” Lt. Gov. Gregg said. “To date, more than 450 families have received recognition. That number is a testament to the hard work our farmers are doing in and for our state.”

“Iowa is a national leader in conservation and water quality efforts,” Sec. Northey said. “These awards are an opportunity to recognize the farmers who are leading the way and highlight the significant investment they are making to better care for our air, soil and water.”

“We are honored to take part in recognizing some of Iowa’s best farmers who instill common practices to protect our natural resources,” Dir. Gipp said. “We hope that by recognizing the great work these farmers are doing, it will encourage others to follow suit and help protect the environment.”

Winners were presented a certificate as well as a yard sign donated by Monsanto and a commemorative program provided by the Iowa Ag Water Alliance. Hagie Manufacturing sponsored a recognition luncheon following the ceremony. Bob Quinn from WHO served as the Master of Ceremony.

All winners were chosen by a selection group representing both agricultural and conservation groups.

The selection group that approved the 2017 winners included:
·         Jim Gillespie, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship
·         Bruce Trautman, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
·         Jim Frederick, Conservation Districts of Iowa
·         Jay Harmon, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach
·         Sean McMahon, Iowa Agriculture Water Alliance
·         David De Geus, The Nature Conservancy
·         Jeff Pape, Iowa Farm Bureau
·         Dennis Friest, Iowa Corn Growers Association
·         Wayne Fredericks, Iowa Soybean Association
·         Shelia Larson, Iowa Turkey Federation
·         Dan Wetherell, Iowa Pork Producers Association
·         Katie Oltoff, Iowa Cattlemen’s Association

To see a complete list of the 2017 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award winners, click here.

To download high resolution photos of the winners who attended the ceremony, click here to search by last name. Information about the winners’ farming operations can be found in the photo description.


Mailing Address: IDALS,  Wallace State Office Building,   502 E. 9th Street,  Des Moines, IA 50319:     PH: 515-281-5321
  Sitemap   Privacy Statement   Relay Iowa State of Iowa Home
animals Conservation Marketing News and Events Regulations Cost Share